“Helping You Ditch Wedding Stress” podcast/blog [11]

This podcast clue is the lone middle entry, the anchor to the puzzle which stands out. It’s very valuable real-estate, especially since it signals to the reader that this term was almost certainly a seed or an intentional placement from the constructor, and not just a well-clued turn of phrase to salvage something that the rest of the chosen grid entries necessitated. As such, it tells you plenty about what the constructor wants readers to walk away with, and as things go, even if you’re not into that scene, BRIDECHILLA is a fantastic name (I’m assuming a play on the bride + Godzilla portmanteau) that’s well worth learning. I suppose if you don’t like stumbling into fun words, this won’t do anything for you, but I would ask why you’re solving crosswords at all in that case. A few other fun bits from the way the familiar ANTS is clued in _____ : raisins :: log : celery (4). As a cryptic guy (specifically @thatcrypticguy), I admire clues that reparse familiar things, this time in the form of an analogy as opposed to the more direct (though perhaps idiomatic?) finger food. Finally, some credit to the choice of fill and cluing: Hivemind communication? (8) is fun but the answer BEE DANCE is amazingly evocative, while the reverse goes for ON A DATE, which is elevated by the beaming tone of Out with one’s sweetie (7).

NOTE: I know I've got my regular cryptic roundup, but I do still want to more regularly highlight fun crossword clues, a vital component for setters of either type of puzzle. Please don't be shy about reaching out to me on Twitter or Twitch if there's a grid you'd like me to solve or talk about. I've been pretty candid about the types of puzzles I like!

One thought on ““Helping You Ditch Wedding Stress” podcast/blog [11]

Leave a comment